In my kitchen today: Kedgeree

‘Seriously what the hell can you not just make a fry for breakfast like everyone else?’ Is the response I got from my flatmates after I told them what I was making today. Needless to say I was very smug in telling them (after frantically googling it myself) that Kedgeree is an anglo-indian mash up dish often eaten for brunch.

I found this recipe in a magazine, eat in I think, and all the flavours appealed to me so I decided to give it a go.

Ingredients

-20g butter

-1 tsp vegetable oil (I used olive oil because I had it)

-1 onion, finely chopped

-1 red chilli (I used two, one green and one red)

-1 tbsp curry powder (I used garam masala because they’re totally the same thing right?)

-1 tsp turmeric

-300g long grain rice

-300 ml milk

-300 ml water

-4 eggs

-400g smoked trout flaked (I used smoked haddock instead because I think it has a nicer flavour)

-Juice of 1 lemon

-Salt and pepper

-Spring onions and lemon wedges to serve

Method

1. Heat butter and oil in saucepan and saute the onion until soft. Add chilli and spices, cook for 1 min.

2. Stir in rice, milk, and water. Season with salt and pepper. Bring to the boil then simmer for 10 mins.

3. Cook eggs for 6 minutes until hard boiled, run them under cold water until they can be handled. Peel.

4. Take rice off the heat and scatter fish over. Cover and leave until fish is hot.

5. Pull eggs apart and add to rice. Add lemon juice. Serve with lemon wedges, spring onions, and a twist of pepper.

Verdict: Tasty, surprisingly light, and definitely filling. The play of flavours between the haddock and the lemon was particularly good and there was a real depth of flavour that I wasn’t expecting. And of course everyone was super impressed at me cooking indian considering I know as much about Indian food as I do about astrophysics.

Have to say it was a little lacking on ‘curry’ flavour, if I was making this again I would probably add more of the spices mentioned as well as more chillies because I just didn’t get that kick I was expecting. Also 300g of rice is enough to feed a small army, the majority of this has ended up in the freezer or down other people’s throats (I’m going to start charging soon)

This was fun but I couldn’t see myself eating fish anytime before noon. I think I’ll stick to cheerios for breakfast.

Up next: Pork in spicy peanut butter sauce 

Leave a Reply

